Getting Ready for Halloween

Halloween is almost here! And Southern California FINALLY got it’s first taste of fall this past week! It rained – TWICE! Plus, it’s been cold enough outside to actually need light sweaters in the morning and evening.

I had an awesome $10 off coupon to Home Depot, so we went shopping for pumpkins. Kiera wanted to pose with them before we gutted them. With the coupon, I got both of these pumpkins for just $.96 total!

As the seasons change, I always get so inspired to create! I can’t help it. As each season comes around, I am reminded why it’s my favorite… which I guess means I don’t really have a favorite. As the seasons started switching, I felt the need to try something new. Sewing! With a machine!

I know how to hand-sew, but it’s just so time-consuming. So I sat down and decided once and for all I was going to make friends with my sewing machine. And here’s the result!

 

The guinea pigs LOVE cuddle cups, and I figured it would be a perfect starter project because they don’t care if it comes out wonky-looking. It actually turned out really good though! I’m so happy!

So I immediately made 4 more – to sell through my shop. They’re perfect for small animals of all kinds. Fleece on the inside, cotton on the outside, with fluffy batting in the middle.

 

 

With my new-found “prowess” with a sewing machine, I turned to my next big idea -Halloween!

Two years ago, I made costumes for both Sean and myself – Han Solo and Princess Leia (slave version). His was mostly pieced together from articles of clothing we got from Goodwill, Army Surplus, etc. The only thing I had to (hand) sew was the red ribbon down the side of his pants. For my own, the only piece that I DIDN’T hand sew was the bikini top. Although it needed to have lots of gold ribbon sewn onto it.

I don’t have a picture of the costumes, and I’m not sure I would really want a picture of me in that get-up circling around my blog anyway…

Last year, we were very tight on money. We decided that if we could piece most of a costume together from articles of clothing we already owned, we would each get one “accessory” to finish it off.

I went as Wednesday Addams, with a collared white shirt, black sweater, and black pleated skirt already in my closet. To finish off the costume, I bought a pair of striped stockings.

Sean went as Steve from Blue’s Clues. He had a pair of khakis with a blue and green striped rugby shirt already in his closet. He finished off the costume with a paw print stamp from Joann’s (and borrowed my blue stamp pad). He had so much fun putting paw print stamps on everyone the entire night. Sometimes I think he’s a giant 5-year-old, but hey! Whatever works!

This year he wanted to do another “couple’s costume.” Since I already have a Mad Hatter costume from a couple of years ago, I proposed making him a White Rabbit costume. He loves the idea of being able to wear his waistcoat and pocket watch! Plus, it would mean a top hat.

Now, Sean has a big head. Because of this, we would have to custom order him a top hat for $70! OR I could try my hand at making one!

Here’s how it looks so far!

I still have to add the bunny ears, but I like it! (I may or may not be biased, since I made it…)

What are you going to be for Halloween? Are you doing a home-made Halloween, like us? How else are you celebrating the changing of the seasons?

 

About elizabethanne

I'm 22, living in Southern California, and trying to figure out this crazy thing called life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

